French Fry Tears

“Can we have more french fries?” my 7-year-old twins asked after devouring their first plate at dinner.

“There are a few left in the kitchen,” I nodded. “You can share them.”

The girls excitedly left the table, plates in hand. Moments later, sobs erupted from the kitchen and P emerged, shoulders slumped, head hung, big tears running down her cheeks. “You said there were more!” she wailed, her face crumpling as a new wave of sobs took over.

My eyes swung around to my hubby, who moments before had gone into the kitchen. “Did you eat the rest of the french fries?” I asked accusingly, pretty sure I knew the answer. It wasn’t the first time the last of something had disappeared into his stomach without him having asked if anyone else wanted more.

“I was hungry!” he admitted, holding back a laugh. “Do you want me to make more?”

Slowly P walked back into the room, dejectedly dropped her plate onto the table, and then melted to the floor, crying over the french fries that her father had eaten. She sat under the table crying while her father and I exchanged raised-eyebrow looks overhead, trying not to laugh at P’s outrageous reaction.

“P, Daddy said he can make some more. It will take 20 minutes. Do you want more french fries?”

“Yes,” she sniffled, crawling out from under the table.

“Yes, please?” I reminded her.

“Yes, please,” she said, wiping her face on her arm and pushing wet curls off of her cheeks.

Her twin, who had been watching her sister the whole time, suddenly sprang to life. “Me, too! I want more, too!” she called out.

Twenty minutes and twenty-thousand “How much longer?”s later, two happy girls were chowing down on their french fries, no more french fry tears in sight.

Moral of the story: don’t get in the way of a seven-year-old and her french fries!

6 thoughts on “French Fry Tears

  1. I can understand your daughter. Having your mind set on the fires, almost tasting them in your mouth to discover there aren’s any, the disappointment is strong. And sometimes crying is the only option. Lucky you to have the fries ready to make more.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. This has definitely happened in our house! Tears from the kids and to be honest, tears from me! I get very upset food I was expecting to eat isn’t there anymore! I think I even have an old slice about my husband eating what I had planned to eat for lunch, lol.

    Glad your kiddos got their fries afterall!

    Liked by 1 person

    • I can totally relate to your husband eating what you planned to have for lunch. I now tell my hubby, “Don’t eat this, I’m taking it for lunch!” Otherwise it will likely end up a late-night snack.

      Like

  3. I have seen similar tears from my 4-year-old granddaughter but her outbursts come from not wanting to finish her vegetables and still wanting her dessert. You have to love the inner workings of children!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment