U2

A couple of weeks ago I came across an old CD case that housed my favorite CD’s from when I was in college in the early 2000’s. Instead of adding it to the Goodwill bag, I took it to my car which, since it is also from the early 2000’s, has a CD player. Over the course of my daily commute, I’ve been listening to the soundtrack of my undergraduate life and replaying the memories that accompany each album. Today, it was U2’s turn.

U2. Whenever I think about U2, I think about Adam. Adam lived in the dorm on the same hall as my two best friends freshman year. Tall, dark hair, great body and a good dresser…Adam was easily the best looking guy around. And he was nice to top it off! We all had a crush on Adam.

U2 was playing at the Pepsi Center in Denver that fall, and word got around that Adam had two tickets to the show. He wasn’t in a relationship, so that meant one ticket was open. Who will he take? we whispered to each other. We each hoped and crossed our fingers it would be us. I just knew that if he would pick me, not only would I get to see an awesome concert, but Adam would realize that we were meant to be and years down the road we would look back fondly on our first date at the U2 concert. I’m pretty sure every other girl in the dorm was thinking the same thing.

In the end, Adam took his friend who lived across the hallway…the guy who carried a boombox on one shoulder and a skateboard under the other arm…the guy who loved music, but not particularly U2…the guy that I started dating a few months later….and then married after college…then had three kids with many years after that. That guy got Adam’s extra U2 ticket. And I still remind him of how he broke every girls’ heart in the dorm when he went to see U2.

Leave a comment