Kindergarten Break-Ups

“That was my pink crayon!” Kari, a kindergartener, whined to me.  She pointed to the crayon that the student sitting next to her had stored in her own basket, out of Kari’s reach.

I kneeled down next to the crayon culprit and looked her in the eye.  “Dulce, the crayons are for everyone.  Can you please share the pink crayon with Kari so she can finish her book?  We share with our friends.”

Dulce handed the crayon over, but the look on her face told me that she wasn’t interested in my sharing pep-talk.  She picked up her book and went somewhere else to work.

Kari set to work with the pink crayon, continuing to talk as she colored.  “She never shares with me anymore.”

“Why not?”

“I don’t know.  We used to be friends and share, but then she broke up with me and now she doesn’t share anything with me anymore.”

I put on my sad face and looked into Kari’s eyes.  “I’m so sorry to hear that.  Did you ask her why she did that?”

“Nope,” Kari replied as if it was the craziest idea she had ever heard.

“Well, I think you should ask her and maybe you can solve the problem,” I explained.

“Okay,” Kari agreed with a big smile.

Wow, I thought, that was the easiest break-up conversation I’ve ever had!

One thought on “Kindergarten Break-Ups

Leave a comment