Bessert

My three kiddos are chips off the old block.  Chocolate chips off the double chocolate fudge cake block.  They definitely inherited their sweet tooths from me, and along with it the instinctual need to end the evening with something sweet.  “What’s for bessert?” Little Girl B asks me every night. “Is it bessert time yet?”

Sometimes I use it to my advantage, like tonight during dinner when Little Girl A, my  three-year-old vegetarian wanna-be refused to eat any chicken, even though we eat this chicken once a week because it is the only meat she will eat. “You have to eat your dinner before you can have dessert,” I remind her, and suddenly she has no problem dunking those pieces of chicken in ketchup and popping them into her mouth.

Sometimes I try to get away without having dessert, but my six-year-old son catches me 98% of the time.  We’ll be somewhere into the bedtime routine, brushing our teeth or putting on pajamas, and just about the time I think I’ve finally done it, my son will stop and say, “Wait!  We didn’t have dessert yet!”

Oh well, if you can’t beat ’em, join ’em!pexels-photo-132694.jpeg

 

2 thoughts on “Bessert

Leave a comment