Making Sure

Waffles stood looking out the big picture window in the living room, back legs on the couch, front paws on the windowsill, hot pink panties dangling from his mouth for all the neighbors to see.

One of my little girls skipped across the yard, smiling at me through the window. I smiled back and pointed at Waffles. She started looking up, down, all around, not sure what I was pointing at. I shook my head, walking closer to Waffles and pointing at our beloved dog and his beloved underwear. Her gaze followed my arm, her face breaking into giggles that I couldn’t hear through the window.

Suddenly a puzzled look crossed her face. Her eyes left the window and she looked down. Curious, I watched as she hooked a finger through the waistband of her leggings and stretched the elastic out and away from her tummy, glancing inside, I think, to make sure that the underwear in Waffles’ mouth weren’t the underwear she was supposed to be wearing. Satisfied with what she saw, her smile returned and she resumed skipping towards the backyard.

I laughed, rubbed Waffles on the head, and went back to what I had been doing.

4 thoughts on “Making Sure

Leave a comment