So Slow

Lately I’ve been spending a lot of time in one particular classroom, not doing my usual coaching around literacy instruction but instead supporting a new classroom management system in what is possibly the most difficult class I’ve experienced in my 17 years of teaching. It’s actually a very small class, only 16 students, but the combination of personalities and special needs leaves me (not to mention the classroom teacher) beyond exhausted: 1 student on the spectrum, 1 student on a Tier 3 behavior intervention plan, 4 students on Tier 2 behavior intervention plans, 2 newcomers, and over half reading below grade level. It’s a lot. A LOT!

Two weeks ago we launched the new management system with lots of positive reinforcement and incentives. We’ve also gone back to the basics, making routines as clear and simple as possible and practicing them like it was the beginning of the year. We are making progress. But it feels so slow. Sooooo sloooooowwwww. I left school feeling discouraged about the whole situation. Hopefully tomorrow will be better. But I’m not holding my breath.

13 thoughts on “So Slow

  1. My heart goes out to you. I had that class fifth period back in 2016 and it nearly did me in. Every day was a struggle and I had those thoughts of just walking out. When I tried to tighten the clamps it went sideways. I loosened them and things went sideways too. There seemed no winning except to endure. So I prayed and endured. And then the next few years the good Lord blessed me with a far more peaceful road. I didn’t feel guilty that I seemed to have it easier during those years, because somehow, as they say, it all evens out in the wash. Please hang in there and celebrate every day as a step. It’s almost April. You can do this – and you’ll be amazed how it empowers you over the next few years. My truth to share is that you mean more to those students than you will ever know. They are just needy and you are the chosen one to meet their needs. You have the magic.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. It’s so challenging. This has been such a tough year. I like to challenge myself to reframe the class that exhausts me into the class I’m most looking forward to each day. It can require some wild mental gymnastics, but it’s always an interesting exercise. I was amused to discover this year that the class I was struggling with the most and had to do the most reframing with in my own mind has actually become my favorite. Some days they are still completely unmanageable but then I just remind myself that they are providing a wonderful invitation to me to practice my skills of patience! Here’s hoping to continued improvement, even if it’s very slow.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Hang in there. I appreciated reading your slice written so honestly and can connect to it. This year is HARD, and you have an extra layer of hard on top of that. Slow progress is progress and the classroom teacher and students are fortunate to have you.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. A couple things occurred to me as I read: I wonder if the teacher is new and was dumped on. It happens often. When I saw you’re the oath my mind immediately went to the classroom teacher who is w/ those students all the time. I bet those students have had few positive s hook experiences. I hope you can help change that.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Sounds like it’s definitely challenging. Slow feels awful when you’re in it. What if you tried listing positives at the end of each week? That could help you see the progress they’re making when it feels glacial.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. We have all been there and some of us are still there. I have had many moments this year where I have felt as you–utterly defeated and at the end of my ropes. One of my classes is 1/3 learning support, with some emotional needs and behavior issues mixed in. Some days, I am just surviving. But it’s like what most commenters are saying–got to look at the small bits and celebrate. Slow progress is still progress at the end of the day. And if you are doing the best you can, what more can you do?

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment