Two Mountains

Two mountains loom on my horizon.  I pass by them regularly.  I attempt to climb them most days, but they are unconquerable.  Just when I think I have reached the summit, I turn around to see another ascent that I hadn’t noticed.  Before I had kids, the peaks didn’t seem so out of reach, and if I ignored the mountains for a few days I could easily roll up my sleeves and make my attack.  Now, though, if I miss a day, the mountains become insurmountable.  So I keep at it, day by day, even though I know there is no end in sight.

4 thoughts on “Two Mountains

  1. Without looking at the pictures, I was thinking of something else! 🙂 I love this! How clever! This is how I feel every Sunday when I do laundry. I can’t even remember how easy it must have been before I had kids. Thank you for sharing!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Wonderful descriptive language! I want to read this to my 2nd graders without showing them the photos to see what they think the mountains are. I am on the other side of the mountain now, you won’t believe how fast it goes.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment