Facebook Boycott

As I was driving home from work, I heard on the radio that someone of some importance has called for a Facebook boycott, urging people to delete their accounts and stop using the social media platform in protest to the inappropriate use of users’ private information.  I didn’t really pay that much attention to what they were saying, though, becuase (and you might want to sit down for this)…I don’t have a Facebook account.

Have you started breathing again?  Good, becuase, believe it or not, it’s true.  I do not and never have had a Facebook account.  Friends and family have tried to get me on the social media platform, saying, “You would know what I was up to if you were on Facebook!” Or “If you were on Facebook I could see pictures of your family!” Or  “You would know that if you were on Facebook!”  But I have a long list of reasons why I am not interested in it, and here are a few of the top ones:

  • I don’t have time!  I don’t get enough sleep and I forget to brush my teeth more than I care to admit, so when would I squeeze in time to update a Facebook account or check what other people are up to?
  • I talk to all the people I care about in person, by phone, or over email.  I’m not into the impersonal communication of social media.
  • I don’t care about half the stuff people post on their Facebook account.  You’re going grocery shopping?  Unless you want to take my list and pick up a few things for me, I don’t need to know.
  • I don’t want to deal with the etiquette of “friending” or not friending people.  If I did have an account, I wouldn’t want to be friends with every single person I know or have met, and I certainly don’t want people from my past finding me, but I’m too nice and would worry about offending people.

Sometimes it is annoying not having an account because people make big life announcements only via Facebook and then think everyone has read them (like they’re getting married, having a baby, or moving to another country).  Some groups and companies only use Facebook to communicate, which is a hassle.  But in general, I’m blissfully happy without a Facebook account.  And on those rare occasions when I really need to see what someone has posted to Facebook, I have Facebook informers to look it up for me: my mom, grandma, and coaching partner.  Thanks, ladies, for letting me continue by Facebook-free lifestyle!

3 thoughts on “Facebook Boycott

  1. I have only had one since September. And the only reason why I started one was because our middle school team uses it as a way to communicate with parents. However, I only do education posts and I only follow other educators. I have so many family requests and I do not accept them. So I totally understand!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Shawanda,

    I have a Facebook account I use to stay connected with family and friends scattered across the globe. It has given me an opportunity to connect with nieces and nephews I have never met – they were born after I immigrated to USA 30 years ago.

    I agree with you that friending and not friending people can be annoying. Do I want to friend someone I had said hello 3 times in my life 40 years ago? No. On the other hand, many people in my extended family uses FaceBook as main way to announce big changes.

    I take a break from it and limit my time.

    BTW, your post about your son finding four leaf clover at the beginning and again at the end of the day was heart warming. He is a lucky boy indeed (Your son, he had to, Ya?) .

    Best wishes.

    Purviben

    Like

Leave a comment