This, Too, Shall Pass

There are way more brain cells in my head dedicated to random Pokémon facts that I would like to admit.  For example, did you know that:

  • Ponyta evolves into Rapidash?
  • Squirtle is a water-type Pokémon?
  • Pikachu comes from the Central Kalos region?

Well, I do! It’s the result of having a Pokémon-obsessed five-year-old who plays, eats, and sleeps Pokémon.  I wouldn’t say the brain cells are completely wasted.  My Pokémon knowledge has made me pretty popular with many students at school, especially the first grade boys.  They appreciate that I understand what they are talking and writing about, and I appreciate that connection to them.  But I do have to say that I won’t be sad if I never have to:

  • read another page from the Pokémon Deluxe Essential Handbook: the Need to Know Facts on Over 700 Pokémon (yes, 700!)image
  • play a round of Pokemon cards (why on earth would the game require you to have 60 cards in your hand–talk about taking forever!)
  • watch a gym-battle in the Adventures of Ash & Pikachu television series (seen one, you’ve seen them all)
  • or play “Pokémon Pet Shop” (actually my favorite Pokémon activity because my son made it up)

So, with that in mind, you will completely understand why I was so excited when my son told my husband on one of their bike rides, “Dad, someday when I don’t like Pokémon anymore, what should I do with all my cards?”  Someday…he said someday! That means there is a light at the end of this Pokémon tunnel.  I’m not sure how long it will take, but like I’ve learned to say in parenting, this, too, shall pass!

4 thoughts on “This, Too, Shall Pass

  1. Haha, it’s funny that he is trying to imagine what he might be like without Pokemon. Hopefully it will pass, but he will probably find another new favorite thing to focus on! Maybe Harry Potter books..

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

