Every Night

Every night

for the past twenty-seven months

I’ve put my twins down

then turn on

the baby monitor

 

Every night

for the past twenty-seven months

I do my chores around the house

holding in one hand

the baby monitor

 

Every night

for the past twenty-seven months

I settle down with my book and read

to the hum of

the baby monitor

 

Every night

for the past twenty-seven months

I cuddle up next to my husband

in the company of

the baby monitor

 

Every night

for the past twenty-seven months

I dream about the day

when I no longer need

the baby monitor

image

7 thoughts on “Every Night

  1. Haha I love the repetition of the baby monitor at the end! It really brings in the irritation that goes with it always being in your hand – your kids will soon be able to sleep without your ear needing to be right there.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

