Bueller…Bueller…

My husband came home from Target and pulled a DVD out of the bag.  Ferris Bueller’s Day Off.  Growing up, we had a VHS tape of Ferris Bueller that we recorded off of TV.  I watched it more times that I can count and loved it every time.  But I haven’t seen it in over ten years.

My husband turned it on and I sat down next to him on the couch with my iPad, intending to write my slice while I watched the movie.  As Ferris started running through his favorite ways to fake out the parents about being sick, all thoughts of writing left my fingertips and I was transported to Chicago for the ultimate Day Off.  A day that could never really happen, but we all wish we had experienced.  A day that kept me from writing, or even thinking of something to write about, for my slice.

I can’t  remember the last time I watched an entire movie without doing something while I watched it.

“That’s a classic,” my husband declared as the credits came to an end.

Agreed!

IMG_0690

11 thoughts on “Bueller…Bueller…

  1. Triple agreed. If I had a DVD of it, I would watch it right now. Two things come to mind. First, having lived in Chicago for 20 some year, the places in the movie are real to me which makes even more fun. Second, I love a movie that makes me smile. I also rarely watch them when my husband puts them on. I’m reading, tweeting, writing, or any number of other things. It’s good to just do one thing. I read once that you can really only do one thing at a time. Life moves pretty fast. If you don’t stop and look around once in a while, you could miss it.

    Like

  2. It is so great in our busy, crazy multi-tasking lives when we can slow down and become immersed in a pure pleasurable activity like watching a movie or reading a book. I too have trouble settling in and watching a whole movie. Classics do suck me in.

    Like

  3. What a perfect slice of life! I love the car kicking in Cameron’s garage! I’m not sure I ever saw the unedited version of that movie…might be about time I do!

    Like

  4. How fun! I haven’t watched that movie in years, but your slice makes me want to share it with my kids! I think we’ll need to put it on our to watch list for sure.

    Like

  5. And a perfect Slice of Life from you today, too. You did two important things–relaxing and staying in the moment with your husband and Ferris, and keeping up the Slice of Life story challenge. Brava!

    Denise

    Like

Leave a Reply

