The Wheels on the Bus

The twins’ favorite song is “The Wheels on the Bus.”  It has been for several months now.  My husband and I sing it so often, over and over again, that we probably sing it in our sleep.  To fight the monotony of “round and round, round and round, round and round…” we’ve started making up our own verses about people and things we know from real life, books, and movies.  In addition to the many animal verses the girls love (think: the doggies on the bus go, “woof, woof, woof!”), here are a few of our favorites.

Family:

The brother on the bus says, “Let’s play Pokémon! Let’s play Pokémon! Let’s play Pokémon!”

The Grammy on the bus says, “I love you. I love you. I love you.”

The Pa on the bus says, “Come and play. Come and play. Come and play.”

The Uncle on the bus says, “Let’s go fishing. Let’s go fishing. Let’s go fishing.”

Friends:

The Brian on the bus says, “I can sleep anywhere. I can sleep anywhere. I can sleep anywhere.” (Our friend who drives an old VW Bus.)

The Lizzy on the bus says, “I’m a dragon! I’m a dragon! I’m a dragon!” (Created after playing dragons at the park.)

Books & Movies & Pokemon:

The Pikachu on the bus says, “Pika, pika, pika! Pika, pika, pika! Pika, pika, pika!”

The George on the bus says, “I’m so curious. I’m so curious. I’m so curious.”

The Ponyo on the bus says, “I want ham! I want ham! I want ham!”

The Mei on the bus says, “I saw a Totoro. I saw a Totoro. I saw a Totoro.”

And the list goes on and on, on and on, on and on. I really hope the wheels fall off this bus soon, but for now, I keep singing this song again and again, all over town!

3 thoughts on “The Wheels on the Bus

  1. I love this! We did the same at my house. I can’t tell you how many times I ran errands singing, “The shark on the bus goes CHOMP, CHOMP, CHOMP!” at the top of my lungs. So much fun!

    Like

  2. This is too funny! I feel your pain – I teach preschool and know the song very well. I like the lines for George on the bus a lot. This could be a fun way to expand children’s recall of their picture books.

    Like

Leave a Reply

