Hair

About 90% of the time I wear my hair in a pony tail.  Not only does it keep it out of my way, but it is also the quickest and easiest way to tame my not really wavy, not truly straight, super-thick hair.  I prefer to wear it down, I think it looks better, but as a working mom-of-three small children, I rarely have the time to straighten it during the rushed and hectic mornings at my house.

This morning was one of those rare occasions when everyone was dressed and ready to go, and I still had a few minutes before I needed to leave.  Gleefully, I plugged in my flat-iron, telling my not-quite-two-year-old twins, “Hot!  Owie!  Don’t touch!” and proceded to straighten my locks into submission.  I was almost done when I found

THREE

GRAY

HAIRS

hiding underneath the hair at my left temple.  “Is that what I think it is?” I whispered out loud, leaning in to the mirror for a better look.  Sure enough, that’s just what it was.  One gray hair for each of my children.

I quickly finished up and managed to make it out the door on time, but I thought about those three gray hairs all the way to school.  Am I a little sad, perhaps yes.  But I decided that I’m a little proud of them, too.  I’ve given birth to three children–two of them at the same time–and pour my heart into being the best mom I can for them.  I traded my sporty red Bug for a silver mini-van.  I also work full time, helping teachers and their students live up to their full potential.  Yes, I’ve earned those three gray hairs.

That said, I hope I don’t earn any more any time soon.

2 thoughts on “Hair

Leave a Reply

