Rotten Tomatoes

My childhood friend and I were sitting on my patio, watching and listening as our boys played together for the first time.  The first time they met, they were 8 weeks and 4 weeks old.  But since my friend and her husband are teachers in Cambodia, they hadn’t seen each other since then.

Looking at them, I couldn’t help but notice that they are complete opposites of each other.  My son, C: tall for his age, dark brown curls, tanned skin, fearless.  My friend’s son, B: short for his age, blonde, fair skin, and timid.  And yet, they were getting along beautifully.

“Do you want to pick tomatoes?” C asked.  C hates tomatoes, but he loves to pick them for anyone else who wants to eat them.

“Yuck!  Tomatoes are disgusting!” B replied, sticking out his tongue to emphasize his point.

C’s face broke into a look of pure joy; his smile stretched from ear to ear.  “That’s the spirit!” he declared emphatically.  The two of them ran off, laughing together, leaving my friend and I laughing over the exchange.  Where do kids learn these sayings?  It really is amazing!

One thought on “Rotten Tomatoes

Leave a Reply

