Ever-Optimistic

My ever-optimistic friend planned her daughter’s 5th birthday to be at the park today.

In March.

In Seattle.

For the second year in a row.

Last year it was raining sideways and the adults were huddled under a tarp while my friend led the kids on a “discovery hike” through the woods.  So I was a little surprised when this year’s invitation said it would once again be held outside.

In March.

In Seattle.

For the second year in a row.

But this year, today, was one of those Seattle Spring Days that makes you forget about the other 300 days of the year that are gray and rainy.  The sky was bright blue with puffy white clouds and it was warm enough to leave your jacket behind.  I left the baby girls home sleeping with my hubby, enjoying a couple of hours of quiet, while I took my son to the birthday party.  While the kids played, I soaked up some sun and caught up with a friend I haven’t seen for a couple of months.  It was a perfect afternoon.

So thank you, my ever-optimistic friend, for planning birthday parties at the park.

In March.

In Seattle.

For the second year in a row.

5 thoughts on “Ever-Optimistic

  1. I love the repetition here. I too was thinking about the brilliance of today and how it washes away the memories of gray days. We Seattlites have to be optimistic and then when the sun breaks we are the luckiest!

    Like

  2. I love this slice! An outdoor party…”In March…In Seattle…For the second year in a row.” Those short sentences and the repetition are so effective. Your disbelief (and annoyance, maybe) just jump off the page. So glad it turned out to be a sunny day this time around.

    Like

  3. It’s great when dour expectations become a glorious reality instead! Your initial doubt and then happy experience came through loud and clear. Wonderful slice!

    Like

  4. I’m glad, for all of you, that it was a glorious day. My granddaughter’s birthday is in April & sometimes it is wonderful, sometimes dreadful, weather that is. You wrote this so cleverly!

    Like

Leave a Reply

