All the Way to Timbuktu

My husband was pointing the remote at the TV, cuing up the video for family movie night.  “What are we watching tonight?” I asked as I descended the stairs to the basement, a baby girl on each hip.

“The Aristocats!” my son answered from the couch.

“Ooooh, my favorite!” I plopped the girls on the rug and cuddled up next to my son under the blanket we use to combat the fact that there is only one heater vent for the entire lower-level of our house.

The baby girls are just starting to talk.  The few words they say include Mama, Dada, Bubba (brother), hot, Elmo, ball, and some animal sounds.  Baby Girl A especially likes to meow and Baby Girl B likes to woof.  So you can imagine their excitement at a movie full of animals!  Normally they just play while we watch the movie, but as soon as the opening credits ended and Dutchess and her kittens came on the screen, they noticed the TV.

“Meow, meow, meow,” Baby Girl A said smiling.  “Meow, meow, meow, meow, meow, meow!”

A few scenes later the two country dogs came on screen, and Baby Girl B got excited.  “Oof, oof, oof,” she barked.  “Oof, oof!”

As usual, the girls mostly played and my husband took a nap while my son and I watched the movie.  “We should do movie night more often,” my husband mumbled happily as he started to doze off.

At the end of the movie, the evil butler Edgar tries to put the cats in a box and ship them to Timbuktu.  My son, being a four-year-old boy, was especially engaged in the barnyard brawl between the animals and the butler.  He bounced around on the couch as the animals and Edgar battled it out.  Eventually, Edgar ends up in the box and is picked up by the shipping company.

“This one’s going all the way to Timbuktu!” the truck driver announces.

“Mom,” my son asked curiously, “is there a Tumbukthree?”

I was so surprised I laughed out loud. “No, but that is good thinking!” I told him.  I certainly had never thought of the word like that.

As the movie ended, I couldn’t help but think that my husband was right, we should do family movie night more often.  There is a little something for everyone in the family when it is family movie night.

5 thoughts on “All the Way to Timbuktu

  1. What a sweet scene! Love your son’s play on words; that’s definitely a memory worth keeping. I agree with your husband; movie night seems to suit your growing family.

    Like

  2. That Timbukthree is very clever, but I love the coziness that you’ve described, and those woofing and meowing babies, plus your husband saying you should have movie night more often, then dozing off. Guess that’s his cue for a nap!

    Like

Leave a Reply

