The Grass is Always Greener…

“Isn’t it nice to be alone?” my husband asked, his arm around my shoulder as we sat on a bench looking out at the boats in the marina.

“Mmm, hmmm,” I agreed.  The warm sun on my back and my full stomach from the lunch we had just finished at our favorite restaurant was making me a little drowsy.

“What if we didn’t have any kids?” he continued.  “It would be like this all the time.”

“And then we’d be looking at those families in the restaurants with the babies and wishing we were like them,” I countered.

“You’re right,” he agreed.

“But I’m going to enjoy this afternoon without kids,” I said.

“Some day when they’re grown we’ll be alone again,” my husband daydreamed.

“And then we’ll probably wish they’d come home,” I pointed out, but then quickly changed my mind.  “Actually, then we can travel again!”

My husband sat forward and stretched his legs. “Let’s go before we fall asleep here.”  With that we set off for a hike down to the beach and a wonderfully refreshing afternoon that reminded us of the importance of making time for us.

7 thoughts on “The Grass is Always Greener…

  1. I loved this post. I felt like I was eavesdropping on a special moment because you painted it so clearly. This was my favorite phrase: “the importance of making time for us” How true!! I hope you find more of that important time.

    Like

  2. Oh, what a beautiful scene, Shawnda. I love marriage! I’m here smiling at your piece and my husband asks me, “What? What are you looking at?’

    Romance, honey! Wuv! Yes.. there are children in the room (still awake). Your post was the perfect opportunity for a little escapism! (who needs movies?!)

    Again, wonderfully smooth storytelling. Great rhythm. Thank you!

    Like

  3. What a lovely moment, and your choice of dialogue to tell your story makes me feel like I am right there with you. Oh wait, you were enjoying your time without kids so I’m sure you’d prefer time without readers…lol. Seriously, how wonderful it is to sneak away for a little time. I’m sitting on the other side of this scene with children that are just starting their own lives. I’ll tell you what you already know, it happens in the blink of an eye. My husband and I are getting used to just being able to go when we want to go again. Our kids come home and sometimes we’re not there. They seem to think we should just be sitting in the house waiting on their return. Ha! We’ve got things to do! Enjoy the time with your children — and keep finding the time to spend time just the two of you.

    Like

  4. Love that you do make time for you! My husband and I had a regular Wednesday night sitter, and that time was just for us. A long time ago, but I still remember those nice times. Your description made me know it was a lovely day.

    Like

  5. Such a sweet moment, well-told. I like the dialogue exchange; sounds familiar, as hubby and I are getting close to our empty-nest years.

    Like

  6. I could almost feel sun on your back as we eavesdropped on this conversation. And then it was up and off for a hike to top off your refreshing afternoon together. Lovely slice!

    Like

Leave a Reply

