The Best Stuff Ever

“I’m going to get Rocky Road,” my son informed me as we loaded up the car to go get frozen yogurt.

“That’s ice cream.  Do you want to get frozen yogurt or ice cream?” He looked at me like I was speaking the a different language.  “Frozen yogurt is where you get to put the toppings on top.  Ice cream is where you get it in a cone.  Which one do you want?”

“The one with the gummy worms,” he said matter-of-factly. I laughed.  That statement did me no good because the ice cream shop we go to is also  a candy shop.  Both ice cream and frozen yogurt have gummy worms.

“Okay, buddy,” I said, trying again.  “Frozen yogurt is the one with all the machines and you pick the flavor.  Ice cream is where you look in the freezer and they scoop it out for you.”

“Not the machines,” he said.

“Okay, so ice cream.  In a cone.”

“No, no, no. The toppings.  I want the machines.”

“Frozen yogurt it is!” I declared.  I’d had enough of conversations that went nowhere!

Ten minutes later we were all happily gathered around a small table, eating our personalized frozen yogurt concoctions.

Me-mix of coconut and chocolate froyo with mochi bites on top.

Hubby-cookies and cream froyo with chocolate chips and nuts on top.

Buddy Boy-vanilla snow froyo with every neon candy available on top.

After an especially large scoop of the unnaturally bright dessert, my son looked at me and said with utter delight, “This is the best stuff I’ve ever had in my whole life!”

So glad we came to the right place!

4 thoughts on “The Best Stuff Ever

  1. Our nearby yogurt place has closed, and we are sad. But, there is also a rather near ice cream shop that now gets our business. So funny to hear the conversation, and so glad you got it right!

    Like

Leave a Reply

