A Letter to My Car

Dear Bug,

I’m sorry to tell you that this is the end for us.  I truly am sad, I want you to know that.   But the time has come for us to part ways.  We’ve grown apart and it doesn’t make sense for us to go on like this.

In the beginning we were perfect together.  Your fiery red body and powerful engine was a blast to zip around the curves up and down the Colorado mountain roads.  Your compact size was perfect when I went to college and had to squeeze into tiny parking spots and negotiate with traffic.  And your awesome 50 miles per gallon was easy on my empty college-student wallet.

We transitioned together into life after college quiet well, I think.  You were a perfect companion on my daily commute.  Even though we were both getting older, you’re classic look defied your age.  But then, some things started to go awry.  You weren’t as reliable as you had once been.  There were occasions when I started to wonder what was happening.

It’s clear, though, now that we just don’t belong together any more.  I want you to know that it’s me, not you.  I’m the one who has changed.  I have a husband from the city who can’t drive a manual.  I have three kids and you only have two seat-belts in the back seat.  It’s 2016 and you still have a tape player.

I want you to know that I’ll never forget you and will think only fondly of you.  I wish you well in the next phase of your life.  Thank you for the fifteen years we had together.

Goodbye,

Shawnda

5 thoughts on “A Letter to My Car

  1. This made me hold my breath until the 2nd paragraph, I really thought this was going to end badly. I am sorry that you had to let go of your beloved car! Such a hard thing to do, let go of memories.

    Like

Leave a Reply

